The Road to the Driver’s Test

by Jarryd Bedell

Here are my tips about getting your license.

  1. Don’t take Driver’s Ed.  Save almost $400.  If you are okay waiting until you’re 18 to drive, you don’t need Driver’s Ed. By taking Driver’s Ed, you are basically buying your license.  Sorry to say this, but half of my class should not be allowed out on the roads.  You know who you are.  
  2. Go get your permit.  That’s what I did.  Then I drove a lot with my parents.  
  3. Drive.  Drive.  Drive.  Drive until your steering wheel falls off.  
  4. Stay out of trouble.  Follow the rules and pay attention to your surroundings. By doing this you will avoid getting any tickets.  
  5. Life happens.  Roll with it and move on, because sometimes things happen.  For example, my sister got into an accident. It started when our grandpa passed away and we had to come to the school to get our homework. We had just pulled up in front of the school and stopped for a car that was backing up and the woman in the car must not have seen us because she backed right into us and cracked our bumper. We all got out of the car and got each other’s insurance stuff and went our separate ways.
  6. Have some patience already.  Wait until you turn 18 and go to MARENGO, IOWA TO TAKE YOUR TEST!!!! Get there early and drive around town so you can get familiar with the surroundings.  
  7. And make sure to wear your contacts if you have them because it’s really hard to see without them. 
  8. And if you don’t pass the first time, don’t get discouraged.  Keep trying, and read my tips below for help.  

Passing The Test

  1. Make sure you are ready to take a vision check. That’s the first thing they do.   
  2. Then you go out to your vehicle.  If yours is not great, you might want to borrow a decent vehicle from someone.  The lady who tested me said, “Get in the car and roll your window down.” I wasn’t sure what that was all about, but she needed me to turn on the front and back blinkers and the horn and the brake lights.  So, all those things need to be working
  3. Get in the car, put on your seat belt and adjust your seat and all the mirrors.
  4. She asked me to back out, and then we drove.  It felt like I drove around the same block fifteen times.
  5. FOCUS.  RELAX.

Mission Accomplished

As I pulled into the parking lot, shaking like a leaf and palms sweating, I kind of drove over the curb while I was parking.  I thought, “Oh Gee dang,” but she said to me, “Congratulations, you have passed.” It was good feeling.  I had finally done what I wanted to do the last two years. Once you get your license it gives you a sense of accomplishment.  When I had my permit, I was almost scared to drive.  Now I am more relaxed and drive to and from Cedar Rapids. Overall, this was a great experience, and if you follow my tips, you should come out ahead.    

Author:

This is the blog run by the Writing for Media class.

Leave a Reply

