Opinion: Kaepernick on Thin Ice

There has been a recent uproar about Colin Kaepernick, 49ers starting quarterback protesting to stand for the National Anthem before a game.

In my opinion, not standing for the National Anthem is disrespectful and I get irritated with people that think it is okay not to respect the flag and what it stands for. I have never seen a professional athlete not stand for a national anthem or any other athlete I have seen before a game or event, if I see someone not stand then I for sure lose some respect for that person and I do not want them to do their best in the event they are competing in. I think the people that do not stand for the flag are just ignorant and rude.

Other people have a different opinions on this subject. Kaepernick’s coach comments, “[I] can not make him do something that he has the right to do if he chooses to do so.” He then said that he sees it as a sign of disrespect but who is he to judge what someone does. Some people do not think it is appropriate to stand during the song. Some people can not physically stand to support our flag because they have fought for our right to be free. Our Army and Military have fought for our right to be free and practice whatever type of religion or morals that we want to. If we want to do something (that is legal) then we can do whatever we want to do, it is our right!

Colin comments, “I am not going to stand up to show pride in a flag for a country that oppresses black people and people of color, To me, this is bigger than football and it would be selfish on my part to look the other way. There are bodies in the street and people getting paid leave and getting away with murder.”

 

The national Anthem has been a pregame ritual ever since 1931, when Woodrow Wilson who was president at the time signed a bill designating the Star Spangled banner. This was later confirmed by congress and was passed! It will continue to be a pregame ceremony for many many more years to come.

It all comes down to what you want to practice and what you want to do. It is your right to not stand for the National Anthem while hundreds or thousands do but it is your right to do so. Everybody has an opinion on the situation but I can not just sit down when I hear it. I think of the people that have fought or that are fighting for us to continue to be free. I think of the mothers and fathers that do not get to come home, because they have made the ultimate sacrifice for me and my family.

Written by Ryley Scott

Author:

This is the blog run by the Writing for Media class.

Leave a Reply

